A Day in the Life of a South African Maid

We all quickly tell ourselves that “luckily I don’t treat my helper this way”, but are you sure about that…

Remember that for work to be meaningful it needs to have three things (re Malcolm Gladwell):

  1. It needs to be complex
  2. It needs to be autonomous
  3. There needs to be a clear relationship between effort and reward

Are you making sure your helper’s job is meaningful to her?

Brilliant post, thanks Susan Hayden, hope you don’t mind if I repost this.

(Image courtesy of The Daily Vox who also reposted this: http://www.thedailyvox.co.za/a-day-in-the-life-of-a-south-african-maid/)

The Disco Pants Blog

“I wake up at 4:30am because Catherine and Stuart (not their real names) like me to serve them their tea in bed in the morning, and it takes a long time to get from Khayelitsha to Camps Bay. The first thing I do when I wake up is take a bath and get dressed. Then, I get my older children up, make them oats for breakfast and get them dressed. My son, who is 11, takes the baby, who is one-and-a-half to crèche by taxi in the morning. My other daughter helps me feed and dress her before she walks to school with her friend. I have to leave my house at 5:30am to make sure I am at work by 7:30am when they wake up. Sometimes there is traffic or strikes or the trains aren’t running properly, and I get late. I have been late twice already, and if…

View original post 964 more words

Leave a Reply

